Drowning

I told my heart to stop its beating and

for a moment it ceased.

The world was silent

and I began to float.

The air crept and

curled its tendrils

Snapped my limbs and crushed my head.

 

But my heart went on gasping for the sun.

Disembodied

It rose and swam and

let me fall

Under the clouds to drown.

 

My flesh ached and then dissolved

Or nearly dissolved

And melded with the star.

In a moment

The clouds gathered me up

And in a moment more

The rain set my pieces on the ground.

 

My heart dripped from the sun

Into a languid golden sea

Washed over the pieces until they fused and

Panted with life

And knocked me over with its foamy fists

So I could die in peace.

Leave a Reply

