Update: Ezra

I promised prose, and now it is here. It is far from complete; I have been through several drafts. I have had many conversations about what I want to accomplish and how I might going about doing it, and I have been reflecting on writing as a process. As much as I love editing other’s works, I have always shied away from editing my own pieces. But as I have been working on this, I have been learning that editing is absolutely necessary. Rather, maybe it’s editing that makes writing what it is even more than the original ideas that instigated it. The more I work on this piece, the more I realize there is so much more to be done. Writing has become an exhausting process, but I can’t help myself. It must be done, it must be begun and edited and reworked until I am nearly sick of it. But then, perhaps, if I’m lucky, it might be something. Something that I am proud of and is maybe nearly whole. If you have any reflections on the writing process in general, or on this piece “Ezra,” lend me your thoughts! I can take all the advice I can get.

Leave a Reply

