My Memory’s Record

I think I dreamt half of my life,

Or two years at least, the years I knew you

When you were the one I knew best in the world.

Or in those years I didn’t know you at all

And you were always a mystery

I only came closer to finding.

I must have been a child,

If I have forgotten you so soon,

I must have been dreaming of someone like you.

I tell myself that I remember the way you laugh

But perhaps that is only in my dreams,

And my memory keeps no record of you.

Leave a Reply

