We Do Not Want Words

I won’t pretend what its like to be you

If you won’t pretend what it’s like to be me

Neither of us can offer condolences enough,

repeated phrases enough, empty words enough

to really make the point that we are empathetic.

We do not want words.

We do not want words because they allow you to utter

such audacious things as “I am sorry” and “I will change”.

We do not want words.

We do not want to hear, “I understand”, “Don’t worry”

And the worst of all: “It will be okay”.

I am not okay. We are not okay.

You are not okay.

I don’t know what its like to be you

and I will not pretend to.

But I will offer you an arm, a shoulder, a heart

Whatever you need.

And my silence.

I will give you my ears, my tears, my smiles, my all,

if you would just stop pretending that you understand.

Leave a Reply

