Stopping

I’m sorry I must say that I can’t have

Your hot breath hovering above my heart,

roaming kisses from collarbone to breastbone;

Neither can you have my hand upon your

Chest and waist and back and thigh.

Searing moments so sweet, so bitter

So regretfully curious and destructive:

Moments that must stop.

But how can we stop what we’ve begun

And end our thoughts and memories?

God, grant us strength to shy away

Patience and peace to stay away

So we might pause

And perhaps resume one day.

Leave a Reply

